The Sponsor File

Tesla, Inc.

Filing address: Austin, TXworksites: CA, TX, NV, NY, WA (5 of 29 states)

  1. Change-of-employer denials
    0.40%
    USCIS · FY2021–FY2025 combined · n = 1,493 decided
  2. Median filed wage
    $150,000
    DOL LCA · FY2025 · n = 2,683 filings with a wage
  3. Historical PERM records
    1,474
    DOL PERM · FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3)
  4. WARN source records
    25+ source records
    State WARN · CA only · through 2026-08-24

Historical filed wages are not verified amounts paid to workers. USCIS decisions do not estimate an individual petition’s outcome. Current sponsorship for a particular role is not verified here. One LCA is not one job.

Filing names grouped on this page may differ across sources. The record does not establish which legal entity would employ or petition for you.

Historical USCIS decisions by petition type

USCIS · FY2021–FY2025 combined

Not to be confused with LCA outcomes. An LCA is a Department of Labor filing that precedes the visa petition; nearly every employer's LCAs are certified at 99–100%, which tells you almost nothing about petition outcomes. The figures on this page come from USCIS petition decisions instead. The two are often reported interchangeably; they measure different things. Why these are two different datasets.

0.40%
n = 1,493petitions decided · FY2021–FY2025 combined

For change-of-employer petitions matched to this page, 6 were denied out of 1,493 decisions in FY2021–FY2025 combined. These historical decisions do not estimate the outcome of an individual petition. The year-by-year split is in the second table below. USCIS · FY2021–FY2025 combined

FY2025 alone: 0 denials in 230 decisions.

The table below splits petitions by filing type, over FY2021–FY2025 combined. Application categories describe the petitions in the source data; they do not determine which category or outcome applies to an individual.

All figures in this table are FY2021–FY2025 combined totals.
Filing typeApprovedDeniednDenied share
Change of employerPetitions classified as a change of employer1,48761,4930.40%
New employmentPetitions classified as new employment1,976171,9930.85%
ContinuationPetitions classified as continuation of employment1,575271,6021.69%
AmendedA change at the same employer69697051.3%
Change with same employerNew role, same employer20132041.5%
New concurrentA second, simultaneous H-1B1011 decision

Where fewer than 20 petitions were decided we print the count instead of a percentage. A percentage drawn from a handful of cases reads like a probability, and it is not one. How the sample thresholds are set.

Year by year, change-of-employer petitions only. The headline above combines the FY2021–FY2025 rows of this table (marked in window); the other years are shown because the denial climate in earlier years was not the same one.

Change of employer, by fiscal year.
Fiscal yearApprovedDeniednDenied shareWindow
FY2026 (through Q3)36123630.6%—
FY202523002300.0%in window
FY202420802080.0%in window
FY202336733700.8%in window
FY202233423360.6%in window
FY202134813490.3%in window
FY202016141652.4%—
FY2019874914%—
FY201817461803.3%—
FY201713311340.7%—
FY201611301130.0%—
FY2015700700%—
FY2014510510%—
FY2013230230%—
FY20121801818 decisions—
FY20111501515 decisions—
FY20104044 decisions—
FY20092022 decisions—

Source USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub ·Coverage FY2009–FY2026 (through Q3) ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method · Combined decision window FY2021–FY2025 combined

USCIS petition decisions are separate from DOL LCA and PERM statuses. These figures come from USCIS decisions on H-1B petitions (Form I-129). A denial reflects the outcome of one specific petition and depends on the role, the filing type, the year's adjudication climate, and the case's own facts. A high denial rate does not mean an employer will not sponsor you, and a low one does not guarantee your petition will be approved.
Why separate "change of employer" from "new employment"?

The source reports separate application categories. We keep them separate and use change-of-employer decisions for the headline, rather than blend different categories. These historical categories do not determine the process or outcome for a current role.

Why 5 years combined, and why these 5?

A single year of one employer's petitions is often a handful of cases, and a percentage drawn from a handful reads like a probability. Combining fiscal years raises the count — but only if the years belong to the same period. Across all employers in our data, the share of change-of-employer petitions denied ran at 9.54% in FY2018, 9.42% in FY2019 and 4.99% in FY2020, and has stayed between 1.28% and 1.99% in every one of the 5 years from FY2021 through FY2025. Averaging the earlier years together with FY2025 would not produce a steadier estimate; it would produce a number that describes no period at all. So the window stops where the earlier adjudication climate begins, and every figure drawn from it is labelled with the years it covers.

Historical filed wages for H-1B roles

DOL LCA · FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3)
$150,000
n = 2,683filings with a wage

FY2025 median, from 2,683 certified filings. DOL LCA · FY2025

Fiscal yearFiled wageWage sample (n)CertifiedWithdrawnDenied
FY2026 (through Q3)$150,426 · median of 2,6102,6102,6113164
FY2025$150,000 · median of 2,6832,6832,6862090
FY2024$145,600 · median of 2,1312,1312,13110011
FY2023$142,500 · median of 1,3491,3491,350150
FY2022$135,000 · median of 1,2891,2891,28900
FY2021$130,439 · median of 1,1621,1621,16320

Source U.S. Department of Labor — OFLC LCA disclosure files ·Coverage FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3) ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method · Basis certified filings only; records whose wage unit is clearly mis-entered are excluded ·how wages are computed

Filed wages exclude bonuses and equity and do not confirm actual pay. DOL LCA Denied counts are not USCIS petition decisions.

What an LCA wage and status describe

These figures come from Labor Condition Applications (LCAs) the employer filed with the U.S. Department of Labor. They are the base wage the employer committed to pay — they exclude bonuses, equity, and other compensation, and they do not confirm what any individual was actually paid. A filing is not a hire.

A "denied" count near zero is normal here. The Department of Labor checks whether the form complies, not whether the person can get a visa. What decides that is the USCIS petition — the module above.

Filed wages by job title

DOL LCA · FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3)
Job titleFiled wageWage sample (n)
Software Engineer
across 4 seniority levels: $125,000 – $197,851
By seniority (4)

Senior: $165,971 · median of 584
(unstated): $145,000 · median of 500
Staff: $197,851 · median of 276
Associate: $125,000 · median of 13

$165,555
median of 1,373
1,373
Qa Engineer
across 4 seniority levels: $90,000 – $158,188
By seniority (5)

(unstated): $116,732 · median of 243
Senior: $134,000 · median of 231
Staff: $158,188 · median of 89
Associate: $90,000 · median of 52
Level 2: 2 filings — too few for a median

$127,600
median of 617
617
Data Engineer
across 3 seniority levels: $137,000 – $185,000
By seniority (4)

Senior: $157,976 · median of 86
(unstated): $137,000 · median of 77
Staff: $185,000 · median of 39
Associate: 6 filings — too few for a median

$155,113
median of 208
208
Industrial Engineer
across 4 seniority levels: $90,000 – $139,680
By seniority (4)

(unstated): $105,000 · median of 82
Senior: $117,600 · median of 50
Associate: $90,000 · median of 12
Staff: $139,680 · median of 11

$108,990
median of 155
155
Program Manager
across 3 seniority levels: $108,243 – $160,000
By seniority (4)

(unstated): $108,243 · median of 23
Senior: $130,000 · median of 21
Staff: $160,000 · median of 12
Associate: 4 filings — too few for a median

$126,250
median of 60
60
Hardware Engineer
across 2 seniority levels: $162,050 – $205,000
By seniority (3)

Senior: $162,050 · median of 22
Staff: $205,000 · median of 15
(unstated): 5 filings — too few for a median

$177,500
median of 42
42
Electrical Engineer
across 2 seniority levels: $152,558 – $160,930
By seniority (4)

(unstated): $160,930 · median of 15
Senior: $152,558 · median of 12
Staff: 4 filings — too few for a median
Associate: 2 filings — too few for a median

$156,054
median of 33
33
Product Manager
By seniority (3)

Senior: $162,571 · median of 11
Staff: 9 filings — too few for a median
(unstated): 6 filings — too few for a median

$153,939
median of 26
26
Data Scientist
By seniority (2)

(unstated): $133,952 · median of 21
Senior: 3 filings — too few for a median

$141,346
median of 24
24
Machine Learning Engineer
By seniority (3)

(unstated): $172,600 · median of 12
Senior: 6 filings — too few for a median
Staff: 6 filings — too few for a median

$175,000
median of 24
24

Showing the 10 largest of 20 job titles this employer filed for. This list is truncated, not complete.

Titles come from the job title as filed, reduced to a known family — see how titles are grouped. Reported wages are from LCA filings, not verified amounts paid to workers. Each value is labeled as a single filing, a median with its sample size, or a withheld small sample; a seniority breakdown is shown where the filing stated one.

Source U.S. Department of Labor — OFLC LCA disclosure files ·Coverage FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3) ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method · Basis certified filings with a stated wage; single-file values or medians above the sample threshold; not averages

Which wage tier this company files at

DOL LCA · FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3)

Every LCA names a prevailing wage — the government's reference rate for that job, in that place, at one of four experience tiers. Level I is entry-level; Level IV is the most senior. Two things matter here: which tier the employer files at, and how its filed wage compares with that reference. These are historical filings, not verified offers.

+16.7%
n = 11,224certified filings

Filed wages sit 16.7% above the prevailing wage for the same jobs and tiers. A figure near zero means the employer files at close to the government reference rate; a large one means it files well above.

Wage tier as filedFilings (n)Filed wagePrevailing wageDifference
Level I671$100,000 · median of 671$83,949 · median of 671+19.1%
Level II3,221$127,000 · median of 3,221$100,589 · median of 3,221+26.3%
Level III2,555$150,000 · median of 2,555$127,442 · median of 2,555+17.7%
Level IV1,332$177,080 · median of 1,332$154,668 · median of 1,332+14.5%
Marked not applicable22 filings — too few for a median2 filings — too few for a median—
Not stated on the filing3,443$150,000 · median of 3,443$136,297 · median of 3,443+10.1%

Source U.S. Department of Labor — OFLC LCA disclosure files ·Coverage FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3) ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method · Basis certified filings only; single-file values or medians above the sample threshold; not averages

“Not stated” and “marked not applicable” are two different things and we keep them apart. A blank tier means the employer left the field empty; “not applicable” means the employer said the tiered scale does not fit the role. Folding either one into the numbered tiers would turn “we do not know” into “we do”.

A tier is not a judgement about the employer. Filing at Level I for a genuinely entry-level role is correct. What the table shows is where the company placed the role on the scale and what it committed to pay against that reference — nothing more.

Historical PERM labor-certification records

DOL PERM · FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3)

PERM records do not establish current employer policy or an individual’s green-card outcome. Certified-expired is kept separate from Denied.

PERM records on file

1,474 permanent labor certification records are present across FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3), 395 of them in FY2026 (through Q3).

Fiscal yearCertifiedCertified-expiredDeniedWithdrawnTotal
FY2026 (through Q3)393011395
FY202528411605405
FY2024143140223308
FY202310421760
FY2022827913165
FY2021974022141

Source U.S. Department of Labor — OFLC PERM disclosure files ·Coverage FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3) ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method

How PERM statuses differ from green-card outcomes

Certified-expired is a status recorded in the PERM source files. We show it separately from certified, denied and withdrawn. These aggregate records do not establish whether a later immigration filing was made, why a record has this status, or whether an individual received a green card.

Matched WARN source records

State WARN notices

Each row is a source record at its filed location. Multiple locations and repeated or amended records are retained; these rows are not a count of independent layoff events or unique people. Entity matching may be incomplete.

Notice dateEffectiveFiled asLocation as filedTypeEmployees
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,1501 Page Mill Road Palo Alto CA 94304 · CALayoff Permanent53
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,45500 Fremont Blvd Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent164
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,3500 Deer Creek Road Palo Alto CA 94304 · CALayoff Permanent118
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,3000 Hanover Street Palo Alto CA 94304 · CALayoff Permanent52
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,47700 Kato Road Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent65
2024-05-132024-06-20Tesla,901 Page Avenue Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent149
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,3500 Deer Creek Road Palo Alto CA 94304 · CALayoff Permanent155
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,18260 S Harlan Road Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent32
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,633 S. San Fernando Blvd Burbank CA 91502 · CALayoff Permanent6
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,901 Page Avenue Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent403
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,4170 Business Center Drive Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent11
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,700 D’Arcy Pkwy Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent284
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,47400 Kato Road Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent108
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,3777 Spinnaker Court Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent8
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,18250 Murphy Parkway Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent49
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,500 E Louise Avenue Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent24
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,1501 Page Mill Road Palo Alto CA 94304 · CALayoff Permanent237
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,701 D’Arcy Pkwy Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent9
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,5150 Glacier Street Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent23
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,47623 Fremont Blvd Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent25
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,44320-44350 Nobel Drive Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent6
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,401 Nestle Way Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent17
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,1055 Page Avenue Fremont CA 94538 · CALayoff Permanent19
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,4180 El Camino Real Palo Alto CA 94306 · CALayoff Permanent11
2024-04-222024-06-14Tesla,17100 Murphy Parkway Lathrop CA 95330 · CALayoff Permanent77

Showing the 25 most recent source records — 25+ are matched to this employer. This table is truncated, not complete.

Source State WARN layoff notices ·Coverage CA · 2018-11-15 to 2026-08-24 ·Loaded 2026-08-28 ·Files and method

Questions to verify with the employer

Tesla, Inc.
https://thesponsorfile.com/employer/tesla-inc

These questions are prompted by the historical records and data gaps on this page. They are not conclusions about current policy or advice about an individual case.

  1. Filing identity

    Observed on this page: Tesla, Inc. is the page display name. 6 filing-name variants are grouped here. Page scope: grouped filing names; source matching may differ. No group relationship is recorded here; independence is not verified. The future employing or petitioning legal entity is not verified.

    Ask the employer: Which legal entity would employ me and file any petition for this role? How does it relate to the filing names shown here?

    See records: Filing identity

  2. Pay and work location

    Observed on this page: FY2025: $150,000; n=2,683 filings with a wage; median of 2,683. Certified filings with valid annualized wages. Employer-wide filing samples can differ in role, level and location; this is not a like-for-like offer comparison. Filed wages are not verified pay or total compensation.

    Ask the employer: What base pay, job title, level and work location are specified for this role, and how do they relate to the historical filings shown here?

    See records: Pay and work location

  3. Current petition policy

    Observed on this page: FY2021–FY2025 combined: 1,487 approved / 6 denied matched change-of-employer decisions; n=1,493.

    Ask the employer: Does the employer currently support the petition type required for this role, and who can explain the process and timing? These historical counts do not establish current policy.

    See records: Current petition policy

    • USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub · FY2009–FY2026 (through Q3) · Loaded 2026-08-28 — https://www.uscis.gov/tools/reports-and-studies/h-1b-employer-data-hub
  4. Current permanent-residence policy

    Observed on this page: 1,474 matched PERM records across FY2021–FY2026 (through Q3). n=1,474 source records across all covered years. This is not a count of green cards issued.

    Ask the employer: What is the employer’s current policy for starting an employment-based permanent-residence process for this role, and which entity would handle it? Historical PERM records do not confirm a commitment for this role.

    See records: Current permanent-residence policy

  5. Current team and worksite changes

    Observed on this page: 25+ matched California WARN source records; CA · 2018-11-15 to 2026-08-24. 25+ source observations; only 25 most recent records shown in details; truncated, not complete Loaded states: CA. Worksite states not loaded: TX, NV, NY, WA, IL, UT, MI, MN, CO, NJ, MD, FL, GA, SC, AZ, NC, NH, CT, MA, OH, PA, VA, AL, AR, DC, OK, OR, WI. Source observations may include different locations or revisions, not independent events or unique people. Entity matching may be incomplete; this does not establish that no notices were filed or no changes occurred.

    Ask the employer: Do any of the work locations in these records relate to this role, and can you clarify the current status of the team and worksite?

    See records: Current team and worksite changes

    • State WARN layoff notices · CA · 2018-11-15 to 2026-08-24 · Loaded 2026-08-28 — https://edd.ca.gov/en/jobs_and_training/layoff_services_warn/

Current sponsorship, pay, hiring plans and policy for a specific role remain unverified. Loaded dates identify our data version, not a human review date. For advice on an individual immigration case, consult a qualified professional.

This page combines 6 filing names

how we grouped them

This page groups the filing names listed below. Grouping may differ across sources and does not establish which legal entity would employ or petition for you.

Show the filing names behind this page
Name as filedFEIN (last 4)Filings
Tesla, Inc.77299,259
TESLA, INC.77292,627
TESLA, Inc.—1

Showing the 3 most common of 6 filing names.

Different tax IDs in this list are normal — large companies file through several legal entities. We never group by tax ID alone: placeholder and mistyped IDs are common enough that doing so would merge unrelated companies. Grouping here comes from the filing names themselves, plus recorded human judgement where two entities are publicly one company.

Where else Tesla, Inc. appears on this site

by filing volume

Roles. Tesla, Inc. is among the top filers for QA Engineer, Data Engineer, Industrial Engineer, Program Manager, Hardware Engineer and Electrical Engineer. Those pages show the median filed wage for the role across all employers.

Places. It is among the top filers in Fremont, CA, Palo Alto, CA, Austin, TX, Sparks, NV, Lathrop, CA, Buffalo, NY, Milpitas, CA and Hawthorne, CA. Filings are counted by worksite, not by where the company is headquartered.

These are the city and role pages on which this employer ranks among the largest filers — not a complete list of everywhere it files.

Browse all cities and job titles, or read how filings are grouped.

Other employers in TX with too few filings for their own page

not ranked

These employers filed LCAs but have fewer than 10 certified records, which is not enough to build a page on. They are listed so that "not shown" never gets read as "does not sponsor".

3A Infotech LLC (9) · Aaur Consultancy LLC (9) · ABS Digital Solutions LLC (9) · AccentCare, Inc. (9) · Adef Company (9) · Aesthetic Record LLC (9) · Afton Technologies LLC (9) · AG Fintax (9)

Showing the 8 with the most filings — 8+ employers in TX are below the threshold. This list is truncated, not complete.